Junior Analyst - When Can I Start Pitching Ideas?

I am a junior analyst at a global macro fund and was hired to provide quantitative modeling and data support for the senior analysts and PMs. I am the youngest on the team by a wide margin but am eager to contribute to the team in a more meaningful way. At what point would you think I would be qualified to ask for more responsibility with regards to performing more research for the team? My position sits on the research team and I report to a senior analyst.

I have a quant background from undergrad and have been working for 0-3 years, and I am working towards my CFA designation. I want to become more of a generalist and cover macro/rates/FX alongside my current quantitative duties.

On a side note, can anyone recommend good textbooks on rates and FX investing? Thanks.

First off there is a big difference between 0 and 3 years, so that doesn’t really tell us much. Either way I wouldn’t ask to do more research or contribute, just go ahead and do more research and contribute, and you will get feedback if they want you not to.

keep working hard and kicking ass at your fund and your responsibilities will grow too.

Must have went to a decent ugrad - very rare for hedge funds to hire straight out of ugrad. You either have the school name or network behind so now you just need to put in the work and time.

Good luck!

If you feel like you are ready for more responsibility, then just ask for more responsibility. You should have some broad idea that you want to look into of course. Best case is… they give you more responsibility. Worst case is that they take note that you want more responsibility.

yeah whats up with this 0-3 years

zero? who says zero is it like 1.8 or something lol either way, it sounds like you’re at a legit place so be cognizant that it does take a bit of time to come up with ideas that help the team, unless you’re just a star, which may the case - i dont know you - so yeah