Just registered for Level I

Hi All,

I just registered for Level I and am not sure if I am already behind on schedule. I am very new to the finance world, so will probably need all the advice/tips I can get.

I’d appreciate some starter tips.

i wish this joint had a search function.

5 months is more than enough so time not should not be a problem unless you have some major commitments coming in the next 5 months.

Firsty, do a cursory reading of the whole material to identify what topics are you strong/weak at?

Generally, people already have a very good idea about their strong/weak areas even before opening a single page like I knew I was good at Math/Stats but a dummy at Economics. So I knew I needed to spend much more time on Eco section than others.

Secondly, make a plan and a strategy : Where are you going to be studying? in the library or your room or group study?

How much time would you be able to give to cfa each day? are you currently working full-time? or a full time student? are there any other commitments? Things like these should be taken into consideration when making the study plan.

Decide which studying style will be best for you. Some people like to make their own notes (like me), some prefer videos, some like to take external classes etc.

Focus on the heavyweights: Accounts (20%), Ethics (15%), Fixed Income and Quant (12%) are the heavily weighted topic areas on level 1. So devote as much time as you would like to these topics to make sure you have mastered them.

Practice adequately: While it is good to read the materials and reviewing them again and again but don’t be tempted to over do the reading stuff. The one mistake which I made was not practicing adequately and did not take any mocks. If I fail in level 1, then this would be the sole reason for my falling.

Other standard stuff:

* Do End of chapter (EOC) problems and blue box problems from the official curriculum. (CFAI books)