Just started studying for this thing and overwhelmed: need advice

I am studying using the CFA book methods. It’s only 2 days since I began studying. I am unsure if I should do Kaplan Schweser or what. I am mainly concerned about whether or not the code of ethics and code of standards should be memorized. I’ve been told not to wait a year to study for it. This exam is making me crazy and it’s causing me to drive other people away. How do I land and not freak out over this. I’m not sure what else to say. I’m scared guys.

So far on the practice problems I’m getting a 60%. is this an ok score for a beginner. I am also flipping back through the book to solve these problems. Is that ok? I have so many questions–none of them accompanied by an answer.

2 days brah? you gotta pledge yo allegiance to the cfa, this like gang initation. gotta be bout it bout it

It will seem overwhelming the first time through. Once you do your second pass, it’ll all come together.

Many people have passed these exams using only the books from Schweser, Élan, or other prep providers.

Note that in Ethics you don’t have to know which section is called what; you need to know only the contents of the Code of Ethics and the Standards of Professional Conduct.

2 days? Are you even on Quant yet?

I agree that things will come together the 2nd time around. Give yourself plenty of time for review and mocks. 6-8 weeks

Go for Elan for everything except Ethics. Buy the Schweser Qbank to practise. Dont wait. Get it now. And get used to the feeling of driving away people. It will only get worse as you progress in the program.

Don’t waste your time with the CFAI text. I used Elan Study Notes and videos and highly recommend them.

Time management is key. If you just stare at all the books you need to read you’ll freak out.

You have five books to read. So that equates to roughly 1 book a month. This would leave the last month for review and exam prep.