Level 1 order of study

Hello, I just started preparation and am trying to find out the best order. btw. I have no finance background whatsoever. Do you think the following is a good order ? I plan to read only CFA curriculam with 2006 scheweser notes. === Quantitative Analysis Finanacial statement analysis Corporate Finance Economics Ethics Fixed Income Investments Equity Investments Derivatives Alternative investments Portfolio analysis ==========

With no background, I’d still start with Ethics to get an overview and feeling to how CFAI thinks. FSA and Equities are big on the test. Start with the sections with largest weights, like the previous two. Ethics, FSA, Equities, rest of material would be my suggestion.

i left ethics and FSA until the end… so that it would be more “fresh” in my mind come exam time…

IMO start with what ever topic interests you the most, so you enjoy it and get into the habbit of regular study early on.

if you have no finance background i suggest you do ethics about 70% in to your studying. i felt there was quite a bit in ethics that required prior knowledge of markets. don’t leave it to the end though.

Thanks guys !!!

I can’t tell if cielito is joking or not.

probably that is what he is doing :slight_smile: studying ethics 70% of the time…

That’s not what cielito was saying. He was saying that once 70% of the time has passed since you have started studying you should then do Ethics (i.e. closer to the exam date). He’s not saying to spend 70% of your study time on Ethics.

>i felt there was quite a bit in ethics that required prior knowledge of markets. That is what I am refering to. I didn’t feel that way whatsoever.

ooo…my bad :slight_smile:

With no finance background, I would suggest the following order Ethics Quant FSA Corporate Finance Fixed Income Investments Equity Investments Derivatives Alternative Investments Portfolio Analysis Economics Ethics