Level 2 Candidate, what kind of entry level work should I look for?

Hi,

I passed the December 2011 level 1 exam and will sit for level 2 in June. I’m also a recent graduate and received my bachelor’s in finance. I was wondering if anyone had tips on where I should look if I’m looking to break into the industry (I would prefer the research analyst route, but I would consider many things at this point since I do not have any experience). I’m looking to find work in Hong Kong in particular, though I am not a resident. I realize this it is quite difficult for foreigners to find entry level work there, but at this point it is something I wish to do for personal reasons.

Before anyone goes off saying “You started CFA without knowing exactly what oyu had in mind?” - I took level one because I have a passion for finance, and I genuinely enjoyed the material. Though I do not have the experience right now, I am just hoping for tips on braeking into the industry. Thank you very much!

Level 2 candidate means you paid for an exam, which means you only really got L1.

From dozens of threads, you should realized that it doesn’t do anything for you these days.

do you have yellow fever? you like classy asian babes?

It might not mean a whole lot, but I think it means something.

I work in corporate finance in a large regional bank and we are going through a hiring process - while the majority of the CFA material may not be directly related to our day to day work, the initiative and ability to to learn and understand financial concepts that you have shown through completing level I would definitely give you a leg up in our interview process.

Though I guess my question would be why you don’t have a job yet, and that’s a question for which you’ll need a pretty good answer. Most undergrads with that kind of initiative will easily find a job (in my experience) unless something is wrong with them.