Looking to make a transition from Big 4 to Banking

I currently work in the Tax service line at a Big 4 firm in New York and I am looking to make the transition to Investment banking. I have about 3 years experience in tax at the moment. My current plan is to get an MBA from one of the better B schools and try and get a job as an investment banking analyst or an equity research analyst.

Would that help at all or is it too late for me at this point to make the transition? Oh, and if it matters, I am 25 years old. And I have an undergraduate degree in accounting from India and 3 years of experience working for a Big 4 firm in Manhattan.

Is there a way I could land an IB position without getting an MBA? Ideally I would like to get my MBA after I have had a couple of years of IB experience but I realize that may be almost impossible given that I am looking to switch careers. Also, if I did make that switch pre-MBA, would that entail a pay cut? I currently make ~85k a year.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks!

Don’t know about the Manhattan market in particular, but generally if you want to make switch to front office BSD role like IB analyst or buyside analyst, you have to take pay cut. We (middle office/ back office / non-BSD job holders) are always desperate to move to FO role, employers can sense the desperation and will always try to low-ball the applicant esp. now that the jobs are few and candidate pool is so large.

And make up your mind about what kind of job you want and pursue that path (for networking purposes).

I think you have a very sensible plan of first MBA, then IB, and you realize the difficulties.

TO answer your question about pay. If you make it into IB pre-MBA somehow, you will not take a pay cut. (assuming all-in pay)