M & A - assistance needed

We are financial advisory firm and I am a financial Analyst. My company is handling M & A transaction for the first time. Thus, I am uncertain as to what the procedure will be. My boss wants to know the whole due diligence process - operational, legal, financial. I will be doing the valuation, so I am digging back into my CFA L2 books. I need assistance from someone who has handled such transaction. Or if there are good online based resources on this topic, please guide me. I don’t have enough time to read the whole book on mergers & Acquisitions.

May I ask why your firm is taking on such a project when you clearly dont have the skills?

transferpricingCFA Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > May I ask why your firm is taking on such a > project when you clearly dont have the skills? How do you get the skills without doing it first? Somewhere someone must have done the first M&A transaction without having done it before. I work for an asset management firm and we underwrote a capital raising a while ago, which we had never done before. It was no drama.

This is scary. An advisory firm that doesn’t know the DD process. wow. What firm are you with?

How did you win this deal? Are you a niche firm with close relationships with your customers?