Market drop big time today, are we already in recession?

I am in favor of the theory of we are already in recession. At the least things can only get better. What do you think, and any sign job markets get better?

Not sure a one day move is a sign of anything but I think we are in a recession. Things will get worse as will the job market.

Why you think market can only get worse, things should pick up soon if we are in the recession as things can only get better from the bottom? I am a newbie, sorry if my comments are naive.

Dont be calling bottoms…

Yes we are. We will all be fired soon. I know my BB firm will be announcing layoffs around earnings time.

George Bush says we are NOT in a recession. So there.

George Bush has said alot of silly things.

put it this way - 3/5 of the jobs i interviewed for in banks were cancelled

virginCFAhooker Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > George Bush says we are NOT in a recession. So > there. Lol, yeah that Bush interview a few days ago was hilarious…he said a lot of BS.

AssetMgrWannabe Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I am in favor of the theory of we are already in > recession. At the least things can only get > better. > That’s not close to true and I can’t see the mechanism for straightening this out in the short term (the tax rebates are a joke and the Fed has used up their ammo). I think we are getting ourselves into a 5-10 year problem. It really feels like 1972 or something (no Watergate yet, fortunately) to me. I will not wear any polyester leisure suits this time around however.

I agree with Joey. Not sure if we are there yet, but I think this one will be much tougher than the last two. Bernanke is likely a one-and-down chairman, THANK GOD!