Massive layoff

I came into work today and it turns out they let go about 90% of the people I have been temping with as an ER temp (about 95 people of the original 110). They are bringing in a few people that speak one or more languages so I fear that I’m not going to make the next cut. I am thinking about taking jobs outside of finance because I have had no bites since I graduated this year. Should I stick the course any try and land something in Philly/NYC even if its just as an intern/temp like I am now…or do I jump ship and try to find a job that will pay for me to go back to school?

Presuming you survived the 90% cut, you’re probably in good shape, especially since you’re significantly more inexpensive than a lot of your coworkers.

justin88 Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Presuming you survived the 90% cut, you’re > probably in good shape, especially since you’re > significantly more inexpensive than a lot of your > coworkers. Getting paid a lot less to do the same job w/o any perks rules!

In your last post the following words were not necessary: “a lot less to do the same job w/o any perks”

Well don’t leave the job you have unless you have something else lined up. If your pay is no longer adequate then have a look around. I would make sure to mention in interviews that you survived a 90% cull of junior staff.

NSteen1987 Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Getting paid a lot less to do the same job w/o any > perks rules! At some large price point you’re no longer economical for your firm to employ you. Also, in finance, you’re not just going to be handed that sweet comp package without fighting for it. Why do you think turnover is so high?