MBA and entrepreneurship

What does everyone think about getting an MBA if the ultimate goal is to be an entrepreneur and own a financial services business? Benefits of MBA for a future or current entrepreneur: - Gain a network - Increased credibility with clients and potential business partners - Backup plan if business fails - Knowledge/experience gained - What else? Counterpoints: - Could use capital for business instead - Network, credibility, knowledge over rated - What else? Assume that we are talking about a top 5 b-school… Discuss!

benefit-depending what you are starting a quality MBA may gain you access to capital/funding a bit easier. Chalk it up to credibility I guess, but not really.

That’s a good thought. In my particular case, capital requirements are fairly low.

To be honest, I think some of it is self taught being an entrepreneur. I know some people that do well going to a entrepreneurship school and others who have failed in businesses. Well, you can always try to go here, www.babson.edu

Babson has a good name for this…if you go Ivy I know someone that was at Harvard and switched to UPenn because he thought that program was better (he felt the former was too rigid). He has his own company now. However, his business really wouldnt need name recognition and cred that an MBA brings and the network may not help that much either (product based business to the masses).