Motivating yourself

I am CFA Level 1 candidate appearing for exam in June. working with an IT firm, non-commerce background. I was going fine with my studies spending 1-2 hours daily and more on weekends.

Then, my husband went to US on long term assignment. My company also applied for my Visa and got into preparing for that which took sometime. During all this time I was hoping to get the visa and then spend lot of time on studies once there. But last week my Visa was rejected. Now I am alone in India (with MIL) and deeply sad.

Its been more than 2 weeks since I studied. I am not able to pick the books or even think of CFA. How can I get myself motivated and go back to study. I know now I have lost lot of time and everyday my chances of passing the exam are decreasing.

Look at the day count on the top right corner. Don’t worry too much about time vs chances of passing. There’s definitely a correlation but the coefficient for you getting your shit together will have a higher r-square to the results.

If that doesn’t work, think of an old woman staring behind your shoulders in, say June/July, constantly nagging about how i) you wasted a shit ton of time for some nonsense, ii) painstakingly she raised her son, iii) your marriage was only possible by some higher spiritual beings blessing, iv) your children-nurturing responsibilities top any personal aspirations, and v) she wants her next meal before eating you.

but at the end of the day, think of what your husband would say (other than the imu/NSFT stuff). About how he wants you to be happy / do you really want to do the CFA program. Don’t let the circumstances control you.

hope your visa comes through soon though. Good luck.

Think about the time and money wasted if you fail, you’ll feel worse than now…so in order to hedge against that…study now, sleep later.