Moving from Buyside ER to Sellside ER

Hi everyone,

I’m an analyst in a >500B asset management firm. The working hour is decent, salary is good but not great, promotion opportunity is limited. I’m now thinking to move to a sell side to be a equity research analyst. Anyone has done this before? Was it hard to move and was it difficult to adjust to the change in lifestyle, working hour, culture?

Stay on the buy-side. I don’t really know many people that willingly want to go to the sell-side.

Yeah, I can’t think of why you would do that.

Hours are rough, you spend all of your time in peak earnings fielding talking points and introducing new jr analysts on the buy side to the space and accompanying sales teams to regurgitate a story. At the end of all of it, the buy side doesn’t really respect you and the field is dying.

I mean, I do see where if you build a lot of visibility you could eventually have some sort of opportunity on the buy side, but I’m just not really seeing how SS is the best way to get there. The only reason would be if you’re really young and want an early career boost from the brand name and industry introductions.

How old are you?

Also I would only even remotely consider it if you’re going from like some super sleepy buyside shop to like JPM, not some micro boutique.

Definitely a declining industry. Although there is not much room for promotion at your shop, what about a more senior position at a smaller buy side firm or family office?

I’m 32 years old. The shop I’m working now is decent. It’s not at the Blackrock, Fidelity level but we have a respectable AUM (over 400 Billion) and a strong market presence in where I work.

In terms of moving to SS, I will only consider top SS such as GS, MS or JPM… building visibility is exactly what I’m thinking about. My ultimate goal is to move to a top tier buyside such as Blackrock, Fidelity… do you think moving to a top SS and spend a few years there would help?