Moving from public finance i-banking to asset management

Hey guys,

I’ve been on this site for a while and you guys have been extremely helpful while studying for the cfa exams but this is my first time posting here. I am currently an associate for a boutique investment banking firm specializing in public finance and recently I’ve become interested in moving into asset management focusing on municipal bonds with a goal of eventually becoming a portfolio manager. From what I’ve seen it appears that a lot of portfolio managers start out on the buy-side as a junior portfolio manager or an investment analyst. I know that I can’t just jump right into a portfolio manager position from investment banking so I am looking into roles within fixed income research as a way to strengthen my credit analysis skills.

I’ve been applying mainly to credit research jobs, however, I haven’t had much luck in obtaining any interviews. I am wondering if my experience within public finance is too narrow as I currently only work with issuers located in NY from the County level and down. I’ve recently been offered a position with another investment banking firm that can give me a broader experience with other municipal issuers, like utilities, transportation, and big state agencies and I will cover a much larger geographic area but I am a bit hesitant to accept this position because this will also result in much longer hours and will impact my ability to study well for the cfa exam. Do you guys think it would be better for me to accept this job and work in investment banking for another two years before looking again for fixed income research positions or should I stay at my current firm and continue with my search and networking? Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Wait a minute. you want to turn down a good job offer because of longer hours and you can’t study for the CFA?

heck no. take the job.

I’m continually amazed at how much value people assign to passing the CFA exams.