My name on my resume?

Hey Guys,

Do you put the 3 letters after your name on your resume?

I mean John Smith, CFA. Or just John Smith and you have under education the completed CFA program.

I know that I can put it on my business card or business related signature and LinkedIn but I’m unsure about my resume.

Sounds like bragging on the CV, never a good idea. This is just a line on your CV, nothing more.

Yes, I agree. Earlier I didn’t even want to apply for the charter, telling myself this is just a finance course.

On the other hand, now, looking for a new job I wanted to have something distinctive on my CV to separate me from the other several hundred candidates. I’m not sure recruiters read the CV to the bottom where education comes. They probably give up at 1/3 of the page.

So you don’t even put the letters after your name on LinkedIn and on your business card?

Nope, I have a phd, MBA, FRM and actuarial degree. I don’t use any of these after my name.

That’s impressive. I’m in a different playground.

Yes I put it after my name. Did we really study all four years to not? Everyone’s different. I’m 27, and lack any long term successful experience. So, any way I can stand out, I want to.

Not easier at 45. In my country every employer wants to hire 28-30.

Especially I’m trying to change from a shrinking industry (banking).

I am also 40+, so putting a credential after my name won’t help me much any more. At that age you need to have a nice CV and a experience, not letters after your name (in Europe this is bragging and not appreciated). I once read a phrase: the CFA is the cherry on the cake, but first you need the cake. Like any credential or education, the sign behind your name doesn’t say a lot. It is what you do with the knowledge you gained.

I have always heard it is rather a door opener.