Need a Little Advice

Not serious about college as a freshman, I got thrown out, but then managed to graduate Fairleigh Dickinson Univ. with average grades (2.8) and a BS in Management. I ran my own successful business for 6 years and then got crushed by a crumbling economy. Since then I’ve been a truck driver, quickly promoted to transportation manager of a major foodservice distributer, general manager of a transportation company, started in banking as a branch manager at Fleet Bank in 2001, became a Premier RM at Bank of America and currently I’m a Mass Affluent Relationship Manager at PNC Bank. I have Series 7, 63 and 65 and now I’m determined to earn a CFA. My current position does not meet the work requirements for CFA. I’m not worried about the tests, I’m curious about my potential employment prospects during and after passing all the levels of CFA. Can anyone give me some advice about where I should be looking right now? I need to get out of retail banking. PS: I’m 41 years old.

Two words: Wealth Management.

I think you should be worried about the exams and job opportunities even after maybe passing them. Series [blah] and CFA exams are not similar in any way. How is it that despite a 33% pass rate among some really well-educated people (I know Ivy league professors who have failed these exams) that a guy with undistinguished education at an undistinguished university 20 years in the rear view mirror and a truck driving career thinks that these exams are no problem?

I agree with Danteshek, why dont you look into Private Wealth Management? Sure it is “retail” in a way I guess, but you could actually use both the client-facing skills you have along with the actual money mgmt skills you are developing. I don’t see anything wrong with managing $500million of individuals monies…but agree your Series licenses dont mean jack, and thats coming from someone who has them too.

those who cant do, teach