Need career advice

Hello, I passed CFA Level 2, two years ago. Since then, I have been a professional online poker player and have not gone further with the CFA program. I’ve realized that I’ll never be a great poker player, just a decent one. I’m tired of the bankroll swings from being a professional gambler, and want to go into equity research. Should I just try and get any job in the industry, even though the job may suck, or should I be a little selective? How hard will it be for me to find an entry level position since I was self-employed for 2 years as a pro gambler? Does the fact that I passed the CFA Level 2 give me some clout in my job search even though I don’t have any work experience? thanks in advance.

I have to imagine that this is going to be a tough transition for you… and why ER? From your gambling background, I would have thought a trading role would be more suited.

Two of my friends are traders and we play poker often. I think those guys would love you…

must be a tough transition to get back into the traditional workforce. Why don’t you leverage your passion for poker. A buddy of mine who is an avid poker player graduated from b-school and rather than take the wall street route, he took a very high strategic position in a company that specializes in poker.

I think you really have to know the right person and have them be willing to give you a shot in spite of your non-traditional background. Importantly, what you’ll have to explain in your interviews is what you learned from your experience as a poker player and why you have decided to change courses in your life, what you’ve learned to do and what NOT to do from poker, and demonstrate your commitment to finance. Research is pretty different from what you’re doing in terms of work content as well as attitude/risk aversion, so that’s something you should really think about. I mean, at least those are the things that I would be asking you if you were interviewing with me.