New to CFA. Looking for advice

I am an Engineering grad. I am thinking of taking the CFA level I in June 2011. I am looking for advice on a few issues: 1. How much time does one need to put in to prepare for Level I assuming zero Finance background? 2. Which books would you recommend? Is the CFA material enough (assuming one has time to go through it)? 3. Would you say that CFA material is much more detailed and hence a better source for someone who has no background? 4. Does one need to cover all the topics given in the CFA material? e.g. I found it tough to wrap my head around Monte Carlo Simulation and all the steps involved. Would you say I should go back to it and try and understand it again? 5. CFA material has limited practice questions/examples based on each concept. From where would you suggest I do more practice questions periodically so that concepts stay fresh in my mind? I will highly appreciate any insights/tips…

This is my take on it. 1. This depends on how well you study and how easily you can grasp the concepts. If you have no grounding in economics or accounting, you will probably need to spend a little more time at these. It may be an idea to do an economics 101 if you have not studied this at all. However, even if you have done high school economics, you will not be troubled with the material. I spent 450 hours for level 1. However, I think I could have passed easily with 350 hours. I have a general business undergrad. 2. For level 1, Schweser should be enough without need to reference the CFAI material. However I used both. 3. CFA material covers a broad range of topics useful to people working in finance, but particularly investment analysts and portfolio managers. 4. You should cover everything on the curriculum. Everything. 5. Prep providers such as Schweser (I used this for level 1), Stalla and Finquiz (I used this for level 2) will sell you question banks with thousands of questions. Hope this was helpful!