NEWBIE HERE WHO NEEDS ADVICE

Hey, I have very little experience in finance. I took a few courses in college (macro,accounting 1) and I also have my Series 7 but I know that means absolutely nothing when comparing it to the CFA. I just signed up for LEVEL 1 DEC 2010 exam and also, I have the Schweser package. Also in my arsenal, I have Sen Finance videos in case anyone is familiar. I have 10 months before I sit for the exam and I have been studying for about a week now. I am going to try and finish each study session following the CFAI 18 week course outline. Every time I finish a CFAI study session, I will read the same Schweser session. Then after the 18 weeks are up, I will read through whatever I had problems with which would probably take another 2 months. With the remaining time I will only take exams. What do you guys think? Do you feel there is a better strategy for a novice such as myself? All comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated!!

Hi, Garry. Welcome to the program and AF. I think you will be fine for L1. Just read all the Schweser books, and do all the practice questions and tests that you can find. L1 is not a difficult test. Most June candidates start studying around now.

Great, thank you very much for the reassurance!!!

Garry you can probably ease off a bit - there’s no real need to start this early. Give yourself 2 months off and start in April if you want. I started about there for the Dec 08 exam and passed without problems. By starting too early you run the risk of burnout, which is a common problem with L1 (most people will even tell you that April is way too early). Also, I’ve never heard of anyone reading both CFAI and Schweser - you are best off choosing one and focusing entirely on that. Perhaps choose Schweser and make sure to do all the end of chapter questions in the CFAI text (plus practice exams etc)