Newbie Ques

Hi, I am a Computer Engineer, however now I am looking to give CFA L1 in June 2008. I have a few questions: 1. Do you think 6 months of prepration is good for someone with, some background in Finance ( I have completed a graduate level course in Accounting and finance) 2. Before going to Schewser notes, I want to finish reading some books to make sure I’ve done all the groundwork. Where do I get the list of books ? 3. Do you think getting L1 would get me a real job in finance or should I go for L2 before looking for career change ? Many thanks:)

You need to use the search function. These questions get asked repeatedly. 1) Nobody knows how long it will take you to prepare. 25% of the people who sign up for the exam pass it. That means all that anyone knows about you is that it is unlikely you pass. 2) There is no book list. 3) We don’t know anything about you except that you are a computer engineer. Passing CFA level I puts you in the elite company of several hundred thousand other people.

srbnow, CFAI provides a set of really very good books which you can use for the exams. They cover all the topics and are very well written. If you have the time, you should read them.