Newbie to Real World, AF, and CFA exams

Couple of questions for the regulars: 1. I am a new graduate with BS in Econ from a state school with no relative work experience and so so GPA. Based on the many threads that I’ve read on AF, my chances are slim in the finance world especially with today’s job market. I guess the best chances I can get is to try to acquire a “back office” (I just learned the term from AF stalking) job and get my foot in the door and hopefully climb up the proverbial ladder. I know this is quite broad but are there any advice for a clueless and possibly hopeless entrant? 2. How to dress to interview if I am lucky enough to get one? I know this may be a very simple question for many of you since this is a male dominated field and forum. However, I am the other .0001%. Women’s clothing has so many more styles and what not to it, pants, skirts, do I HAVE to wear the whole suit…and the god forbidden panty hose - do people still wear them in the office?! YUCK. 3. (I’m sure there is a thread for this question already…) Are the Scalla and Scwhester or whatever they are called all they’re cracked out to be? Granted the CFAI curriculum can get redundant and the 6 books for just level 1 is a lot of reading, I feel that it is condensed enough because just the FSA, Econ, Corp Finance, and Quant materials were what most of my undergrad consisted of. To read even more condensed versions seem kind of silly if I don’t cover/refresh on the background and theory? I am currently comfortable with the curriculum alone, is it necessary to read third party materials? 4. Interviews. I suck. Period. How do I improve? I recently had an interview, for I guess a “back office” job at T Rowe, and I froze! Any other advice not related to the questions are appreciated. CT

Also, any help in the Dallas market?