next step in my career (advice please)

Here’s the situation: 1.5 years out of undergrad at a decent Canadian university where I had a high 3’s GPA. Level 3 candidate. While at school had co-op placements at a big 4 accounting firm doing audit work for 8 months, and spent 4 months at an asset management firm where I was an analyst that evaluated Canadian and U.S. equities. After graduation I landed a job as an analyst at an asset managment firm that is run by a very well respected portfolio manager, with a top quartile long-term track record. Also, the style is a good fit. That is the positive. The negative is the mediocre pay - $37K to start, ended up making $45K in my first year, all-in. Expect that I will make about $60 this year if I stay (all-in), living in a large city in Canada. So now i’m considering a couple of different options, try and find another analyst job at a competing firm, or perhaps go back to get an MBA. My end goal is to own my own investment firm one day. As much as it was a struggle to live on such a meagre salary, this job provided a good opportunity to learn a variety of industries which was invaluable to my development as an analyst. However, I feel that there’s little more that I can learn at my current firm that I wouldn’t be able to learn elsewhere. I would really appreciate an independent evaluation of what you feel the pros and cons are of staying or leaving, and if I leave - which avenue should I pursue, school or another firm to achieve my goal. Thank you all in advance, and I hope I covered all the essential information.

try and get a competing offer to mark your salary to market. you are getting underpaid. even AM firms in Winnipeg pay more than that.

if you really want to learn about how to dress and what car to drive, then go for the MBA