No doubt about it: Schweser works

For the newbies: I passed LI, LII & LIII without reading the texts. Schweser fully prepared me for every exam. My advice to any candidate is to read read SChweser cover to cover, and use the CFAI texts only for the end of chapter questions.

Congratulations! Did you have prior finance experience?

dp

i agree 100%. Schweser is the way to go. I have spent an aggreagate total of about 40 hours in the texts and 400 hours in schweser over the course of Level I and Level II. I passed both of them with wiggle room. I have no Finance Experience but do have a Finance degree from 6 years ago. I definately recommend schweser and I will be using it for Level III.

Finance BBA from kind of crappy state school, but no legit financial professional experience. Hopefully, that will change.

I went 3/3 using Schweser as well. I think if you know that material cold you will have a great chance to pass. That being said, I did the CFAI text questions this year and also did a Stalla live class for Level 2.

Agreed here. Passed 1&2 so far and both comfortable. Overall I think there will always be an area that schweser fails to cover that will come up on an exam and cause everyone to grip and complain. The benefit of having a concise and to the point summary of the critical points to focus on is more important than the massive tombs of official material. I always felt like I had a thorough understanding of the “big picture” as opposed to the minutiae. I did find value in the end of chapter questions though (since you have the CFAI texts free anyway) to get an idea of what they are going for.

I passed 1, 2, and 3… 3 for 3… had an econ degree and acquired 2 yr of qualifying work experience during the program. 100% Schweser. Studied < 200hr for each level. Different methods are best for different people, but I’m an advocate of Schweser.