No experience - How can I find a job?

Hi everyone,

I need some serious help. I’m in my final year of a finance undergrad degree (non-target) and would appreciate any advice on how I can find a job.

I graduated from a 2 year college business diploma program back in 2012. I proceeded to work 4 years in private accounting before eventually quitting last year to finish my degree. I was just over halfway through the CPA program at one point, but quit pursuing it because I found out I really disliked accounting (and refuse to work in accounting again). I knew at this point I wanted to pursue a career in investment research, so I wrote and passed L1 in 2015.

My goal with returning to school was to leverage my past experience and doing the CFA program during undergrad to get an internship. In 2016 I had an interview for a research internship in my area but lost out because the person who got it had direct investment experience. Since I’ve gone for that job, there have been ZERO internships in my area. The other couple firms that previously hired students decided to hire full time employees instead and got rid of their internships.

This leads me to where I am today, probably graduating with no investment experience and no foreseeable job prospects. I am worried that by graduating with zero investment experience it will be impossible to find a job and will end up in a dead end back office role. I represented my university in the CFA research challenge this past year because that was the closest thing that I could get to real experience. I applied to about 20 internships out of my area (mostly Toronto) this summer and got zero calls back. I am contemplating studying for the June 2018 L2 exam, but am so frustrated at this point. What can I do this next year to set myself up to get a job once I graduate? Or should I just quit pursuing this all together?

Thanks in advance!