Non-Profit Business Question

My sister started her own business about 10 months ago. It is a design business. She makes customized jewelry (she has her masters in product design from stanford, has succeeded before in design, should do pretty well). I am thinking of starting a non-profit design business (basically paintings)- that donates its profits to charities. It is a different area of design than hers and think I can build it up pretty quick (faster than she is now). I think both companies can play off of each other and if I have much success it can be a good PR type of thing for her company, and can get exposure for both if we set it up on the same webpage. The question: Is this type of business structure possible? To have a for-profit business, and a nonprofit subsidiary that has its own operations, revenues, expenses and everything?

I am a lawyer but know very little about non-profits and couldn’t answer off the top of my head your question whether your sister’s for-profit business could have a non-profit subsidiary. I think the answer to that is “no”, however. See the page at the link below for example, which rings true to me - the concept of ownership in a for profit context doesn’t seem appropriate in the context of a non-profit charitable organization. http://www.nonprofitissues.com/public/features/point/160.html That said, why would you want your non-profit to be a subsidiary of your sister’s business anyway? It sounds like you will be the one running it so you can simply organize it and run it yourself and keep it separate from your sister’s business. As long as the substantive activities of the non-profit are in accordance with its non-profit status and are not mixed up with your sister’s business, I doubt that a single website that described and served as a portal for both businesses would be a problem.