% of income for rent?

I’m a first year analyst at a bank in Toronto trying to find a new apartment… I’m just wondering how much of their income they allocate towards rent? Ie., I’ve heard suggestions that typically, people spend around 30% of their gross income (incl. utilities, etc.) Any thoughts?

The standard rule for purchasing a house is to keep mortgage expense to 33% or below. I would think renting should be lower than that since you’re not purchasing anything (albeit you did mention 30% would be inclusive of utilities.) 25%?

The “rule” for Low-Income Housing Tax Credits in the U.S. is that if you spend more than 35% of your income on rent, then you are rent-overburdened and are closing in on the label of “poor” by area media income standards.

ibank Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I’m a first year analyst at a bank in Toronto > trying to find a new apartment… > > I’m just wondering how much of their income they > allocate towards rent? Ie., I’ve heard > suggestions that typically, people spend around > 30% of their gross income (incl. utilities, etc.) > > Any thoughts? That’s what I am at…around 30% to 1/3 renting.

“I’m just wondering how much of their income they allocate towards rent? Ie., I’ve heard suggestions that typically, people spend around 30% of their gross income (incl. utilities, etc.)” I would aim for 30% of net…30% of gross would be tough.

Mine is 34.5 % gross of my base for just rent. 30 % gross of my base is spent just on the weekends, God…

Rent (monthly) - base salary / 40 Buy (cost of house) - Total salary * 4