Off Topic Question

First, before you all tell me to use the general forum, I want to state that this thread is very off topic from CFA material. I am posting in here because I’ve spent the most time reading and “talking” to you all for the past 6 months and I really don’t know anything about the general forum. I trust all of YOUR advice. My question has to do with annual discretionary bonuses. I graduated in May of 06’ and started working for a small firm around August of 06. At the end of 06 I got a small bonus for “doing a good job” etc. etc. but it was more of an atta boy because I was training the entire time. My contract says that I am eligible for a discrecionary bonus at the end of the year. Now it has been a full year and our firm declares bonuses in December, not February. We are small enough and I play a key enough roll to know with about 90% assurance the amount of money the firm netted this year and how much of it correlates to my direct involvement. Now, because this is my first full year in industry, I was wondering if it is normal to discuss the bonus figure when they call me in. I’m not sure if it’s something where they give you a number and that’s that or there is room for discussion. Perhaps it is different at every organization and different for various positions in the firm. I don’t want to be rude or presumptuous but I also don’t want to be undercut. Can any of you share your experiences and maybe give me some advice? Should I “present” all the data I’ve collected or just take what they give and either be happy or start looking elsewhere. If it makes a difference, all of the partners have extensive experience in banking, servicing, and consulting and each deffected from a bulge bracket. From my experience and from talking to friends at bulge brackets, it appears as though they have set up this firm similar to what they are acustomed too for the most part.