On Campus Recruiting Advice

Hello all. I apologize in advance for another career post. I’ve been working in corporate development for the past 3+ years, completed my first year of MBA part-time, and level 2 of the CFA. I’m on track to finish this spring. On campus recruiting activities start in the next couple weeks and I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about what path to choose for the next step in my career. The dilemma I’m having is the following: My experience and background will likely make it fairly “easy” for me to land a financial leadership program position (I interview very well and am not too worried about that). If I go this route, I will be in a position to move up into a management/director role down the road and will enjoy a pretty favorable work/life balance. However, if I choose this path it will be pretty difficult to move into an investment role down the road, if I should decide I want to give it a try to see if I enjoy it more than corporate life. So an alternative I am considering is investment banking. I figure that pursuing an IB associate role would give me some exposure to the financial industry and keep my options open for the next couple years. If I decided the investment side is where I want to be, I would be in a good position to transition. If I want to go back to corporate life I should be able to come in as an associate/manager of a corporate development group. The thing is, I am not really all that interested in working in IB. Functionally I don’t think I will learn much in terms of finance skill, but closing more deals and getting broader industry exposure would be helpful I think. But the thought of 90+ hours a weeks and having no personal life for another couple years troubles me. I am interested in working on the buy-side in a PE/HF role, but there are not many opportunities in my location at the moment, and there won’t be any on campus. I may be able to go that route directly out of school but I think it would be difficult, and