Paralyzed by uncertainty?

I’ve been in an odd spot, in regards to my career, and I’m wondering if any of you have ever felt the same way. I’ve been working for the same firm for a hair over four years (starting immediately after completing my college education) and have recently found myself lusting for another job. Unfortunately, I’m not quite certain what that job may be. I’ve always tried to give myself as many career options as possible. I am studying for the CFA exams because I think it may be helpful in landing a different job when I finally decide to jump ship. Similarly, I can recognize benefits in attending a top MBA program to give myself the opportunity to compete for those jobs that are incredibly tough to land. Management Consulting, Private Equity, Asset Management, and Hedge Funds all seem like they would be more interesting and fulfilling than where I currently work. But, if I want any of those jobs, I’m going to have to focus on meeting any specific requirements to land it. Part of me wants to continue with the CFA, get promoted to management here, and then try to get into a top MBA program with management and CFA exams on my application. That would give me a good starting place, I suppose. Then again, don’t most people tend to know what their goal is before they actually apply? Also, the only time I feel “older” in life is on this website. It seems at 28 years old, I’m late in the MBA game when compared to some of the young whippersnappers bounding about the forums. I dunno, I’m definitely rambling, but just tired of hovering around and not going after a goal. Have any of you ever been in a similar place? If so, what did you decide to do and how did it work out?