Performance Measurement position

Any interesting exit opportunities for those working as a performace measurement analyst at an investment management firm? I see a few of these positions available, but wonder if it’s worth getting into.

Better step if you’re completely disconnected from IM, but not front office. Best thing about it is exposures and networking opps in my opinion.

The exit opportunities are going to come from networking w/ others at the firm. The job is interesting enough and is more analytical than other BO jobs. It does qualify for CFAI work experience (if that’s a concern). I’m currently a Performance Analyst and will be starting a job conducting investment manager research and due diligence next month. I was able to make the transition w/ the help of the CFA and networking within the firm.

This isn’t a job that will teach you real core skills like valuation, it’s more geared as a fund-of-funds management type role. Good way to get the foot in the door of “asset mgmt” though

I can’t speak from experience, but I always felt that performance measurement might give you some insight into how you tilt your portfolio to generate returns. I.e. study what worked, and what didn’t. But actually, that is more performance attribution, which may be part of measurement, or not, depending how they think about things and how they organize their firm.

So I’m assuming this is more of a back office position. Surprised that it qualifies for CFAI work experience.

I consider it mid office. Not a bad start IMO, and as has been said good networking opps.