Pioneer investments

Any input on the operations, corporate culture, compensation on Pioneer Investments in Boston? I have an interview with them for an analyst position? Any feedback would be helpful. Thanks.

I’m surprised there have no comments. I thought Pioneer Investments was a well know fund company. I even tried “the vault” webpage, not much info there?

I work as a fund analyst and we have a pretty good relationship with Pioneer. As far as their structure goes, they basically have 4 job categories in investment management - jr. research analysts & sr. research analysts and jr. portfolio managers & sr. portfolio managers. The juniors earn the same compensation and the seniors earn the same. The goal is that they want research analysts who want to be career analysts and not portfolio managers. They do have several good funds and can utilize resources from the parent company Unicredito Italian bank. I have heard rumors from Pioneer employees that they are looking to make a large acquisition in the near future. Compensation is probably similar to the other fund families in Boston, but I don’t know for sure.

FutureMBACFA Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- The goal is that they want > research analysts who want to be career analysts > and not portfolio managers. I’ve heard the same thing at my firm. I think this is one of the stupider, and all too common, phrases one hears at asset management companies. It makes you wonder whether portfolio managers grow on trees.

Their t.v. adds are a lot like ours, which are in-turn a lot like everyone elses. I start to question who is actively managing and who is closet indexing. Willy

It seems most managed funds are all have similar operations, structure, and marketing. For those who work as buyside analysts, do you thing the market is saturated. Is there is real future demand for buyside research? Or will index funds and ETFs eventually dominate over managed funds?