Possible to pass CFA Level 1 between now and June

hi all, I’m a medical doctor, so finance experience whatsoever. Due to start MBA in Autumn at top 10 school. So have got a couple of months to fill up. Want to do pharma equity research post MBA. Do you guys think that if I start working for Level 1 next week, I can pass it in June. My understanding being that level 1 will help me to secure equity research post MBA. Please be realistic as if I have minimal chance I dont want to study hard and waste time that I can otherwise use for travelling. I was thinking of doing an Kaplan or BPP full time course, which is basically 2 days per week 9-5 until end of May. Thanks for your help. Very much appreciated.

May be a bit hard if you don’t have a finance background, and would be quite a challenge from now even if you did. But nothings impossible. Don’t leave medicine though, there’s enough finance wanks running around the place, and the world needs more doctors. You really should reconsider.!!

It’s plenty of time, though I don’t know if you can do it because it appears that you are not committed to the CFA program. Specifically, you ask this question or something similar every few months, dating back nearly three years ago: http://www.analystforum.com/phorums/read.php?1,118271,118271#msg-118271 So, you ask questions like whether you can pass Level I and whether you can make it to the sell-side…well, there are definitely a number of physicians on Wall Street, but I’d be willing to bet that they’ve shown a lot more perseverance, motivation, and dedication. No offense, but I think “lack of time” should be the least of your concerns.

thanks numi as i said i managed to get into top-10 mba programme…which was not easy to do…so i would respectfully have to disagree with you regarding lack of “perseverance and dedication”. but do you think that it is possible to pass level 1 by june. I got the next 6-months off and can dedicate myself to it.