Practice Exams for Level 3: how do you practice the essay?

I’m new to L3, and just wondering… I’m comfortable with the multiple choice part of the test and how the practice exams help prepare you for it, but how do people prepare for the essay part? How do Schwesser and Stalla help with the essay part? I know Stalla has a mock exam: does that include a mock essay? Does Schwesser have anything like that? I’m a good writer, but one of the best things I got from Stalla on L1 and L2 were these little strategy tips on how to deal with the questions and how to avoid easy traps and pitfalls. I don’t really know what things to watch out for on the essay part of L3. Any passers or repeaters have some advice here?

doing the old exams is the only way to go. i’d be saving those until the last month or so, however. write them under exam conditions… http://www.cfainstitute.org/cfaprog/courseofstudy/essaylevelthree.html

One thing I haven’t seen tried is posting your “essays” to AF – may garner some useful feedback. (Though I expect the novelty to wear off quickly – do it fast!) You also might try to find a buddy (via Hook Up) – exchange your essays and mock-grade them.