Prep for CFA Level One - Non-Finance Background

I have looked through the various threads, and there seems to be scattered bits here and there relating to a person with a non-finance related background preparing for the CFA level 1.

I was hoping to get advice from those who are in my position or close to it:

• I have a degree in Criminology, and I took one introductory statistics class in university. I have also completed the Canadian Securities Course. Other than that, I have no background in finance.

What do you recommend for a study period and a study package? For example, the University of Toronto offers a prep course for the CFA level 1 but it is $4000, and I am not sure I need it. Any opinions?

Similar boat. was a Sociology major. Have spent the last 8 years in retirement planning/investments/insurance. Have a CFP® but had no accounting/business/econ/statistics in college. Starting to study LV 1 now. Doing Kaplan.

Registered nurse for the past 5yrs or so. Never did any course that covered a section on the curriculum. The closest courses that a took were Calculus I & II. Using Elan guides and so far so good I think.

You don’t need any kind of finance degree to pass these exams, so that’s all fine.

I’m not trying to criticize, but I am curious why everyone here decided the CFA program was the way to go. We got a registered nurse, sociology major, and crimonology

“I’m not trying to criticize”, those are the words of someone who is just about to criticize in his/her next sentence. Well, in my case I just found out about the world of finance and it turns out it’s right in line with my favorite subject, math (luv physics too). The reason why I became a registered nurse is a very long story–longer than the cfa curriculum. So let’s just say I found myself in it.

I see. There’s nothing wrong with that, and I really wasn’t trying to criticize. People on this board jump to assumptions very quickly, so that’s why I used that wording.