Preparation for Level 1 - follow order

What is the order one should follow when preparing for CFA Level 1? Should I go with the order Study sessions and LOS are in, starting with 1? I am from an Engineering background and taking Level 1 in Dec 2008.

It depends on your familiarity with the material. Are you comfortable with topics in FSA? Quant? Personally I am an Accounting undergrad so I started with FSA to read through and find my strengths and weaknesses. I am now on Ethics. My plan is to finish the CFAI material and then do Schweser, Qbank, and SS.

I dont have a Finance background and I started with Fixed Income - Debt Securities.

preeti_2006 Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I dont have a Finance background and I started > with Fixed Income - Debt Securities. If you are not from finance, I would suggest you start with the easier ones like Quant or Eco. Fixed Income is on the tougher side. If you have not done accounting earlier, you touch FSA only when your mind is ready to grasp the maximum :slight_smile:

additionally, a very basic premise of valuing debt securities is finding the present value of future cash flows, a concept covered early on in the Quantitative book. I find the order the CFA presents the concepts to be logical and beneficial to someone new to the world of finance.

I would just go in order. Breeze thru ethics as you will review it more when it gets closer to test time. I think things like Quant should be done before FI, and even Port Mgmt. FI helped me with Derivatives. FSA helps with Alternatives a bit. The short of it is just grab book 1 and go, dont stop til December.