Preparing for Level III with a newborn

So I passed L2 last year and just had a baby this year… Thus had to delay my L3 exam (which I signed up for pre-pregnancy) to May’21.

For anyone here who’s tried it before, would it be feasible to handle the study time while raising a newborn? Or should I give up on even trying (I’m also working fulltime)?

Any words of wisdom / encouragement / fact check much appreciated!

2 Likes

First of all Congratulations on your having a baby :slight_smile: I’m a Mom to a 9 year old now.
So, I had my Level 2 exam when my son was 8 month old. I didn’t work full time. I started studying barely 3 months before the exam. Failed band 9. I used to close myself in a room and study, while my mom took care of my baby. But I still failed. I feel I was not psychologically ready to study.
But let me tell you, its completely doable if you decide to. Just focus, get help for the baby and you will definitely do it. All the best :slight_smile:

1 Like

Congratulations on the little one!

On Saturday I had a Level III morning exam marking session with a candidate whose son’s first birthday is tomorrow. His wife was in the hospital recently, so he’s caring for both of them, and still studying for the exam.

Yes: it can be done.

2 Likes

I had a similar “plan” with level 2, and ultimately ended up forfeiting the registration fees that year (didn’t even bother to show up for the exam). Granted, I also had a 2-year-old at the time and no childcare (so studying was limited to naps/after bedtime).

I would imagine it’s possible if you’re realistic about the time involved and you secure adequate childcare (in fact, probably take the amount of childcare you think you need, but then add 30% or so :wink:) Obviously, you’re going to be much more tired while studying than you would be in a typical year. You also may need to think about noise/distraction (will your kid be one room over while you’re studying? Or can you find a separate location to use?)