Priority for First Job - Brand or Work Profile?

I’m Confused. I’m in Second year of MBA and want to work for an year before applying for MFE (Fin Engg) in a top 10 university. In view of my future goals, what would be better - to look for ‘content’ in a 5 year old compant that not many know or to choose a better Brand and forget the work that I might be doing( which would be from Finance domain although) Basically - which should I give priority to in my first job - Brand name or work?

May I inquire what MBA program you are in? I say go with the younger company and forget about an additional degree, but without knowing more about your profile it’s impossible to say.

I also wonder why are you doing a MBA right now while you want to apply to a MFE later on. If you really want to get a job doing what MFE’s do, your MBA will be hard to prove worthwhile. Anyway, I would go for the “Brand name” company, as typical Masters of Science programs don’t really care about your previous work experience, thus the “Brand name” company will be reap its benefits on your resume in the long run.

Hey thanks Danteshek & Alayle! I’m pursuing my MBA with Finance major & trade minor from a Delhi university. though it’s well known(amongst top 10 national programs) in India, I seriously doubt if anyone outside the country has heard about it. I’m an Electrical Engineer… was good at organising things in college so went for an MBA without any work experience, however recently i’ve discovered that my true interest lies in Quantitative modelling or other quant heavy jobs. Such jobs are rare in India after an MBA and so i wish to pursue an MFE from a good US univ after about an year or so. So the question still remains, Company brand name or work content ?