Private Equity / M&A Advice

Anybody out there have some decent private equity or M&A experience? I applied for a job internally (corporate M&A buyside) and have the accounting, financial research and strategic business experience but in my current role I deal mainly with fixed-income only a small amount of venture capital and equity. I think the hardsell will be convincing the ex-IB’s that I can translate my experience (and CFA experience) to M&A which obviously focuses more on company analysis as a whole. Any advice is greatly appreciated as I am competing against IB analysts (external to the company) so one advantage that I have is that I have extensive industry / strategy experience other candidates don’t have as I’ve been with the current company for a number of years already.

Brush up on your financial modeling and transaction structure skills. Those are the only two skills that an IB analyst would clearly have an advantage on. If you are able to show them that you are at least at the same level in those areas, I think it would swing it your way due to your industry experience. Good luck.

Thank you. That is very helpful advice. I am certainly confident in the financial modeling aspect for sure and I think another aspect I may have to work on like you said is convincing them I can perform the job at an equal level despite not having any deal experience under my belt.

And when I mean financial modeling, I mean financial modeling including VB codes, sensitivity tables, complex capital structures, etc. All the best to you.

CFAMetal, jackofalltrades is correct that you’ll need to prove that you have the necessary modeling skills for the job – you might even proactively create a model to show them what you’re capable of. Definitely play up the advantages that you bring to the table. The main thing is to show them that you’re competant, and while you may not have the M&A experience, you will be quick to learn. Be confident…good luck!