Proctor told me I couldn't write in my book or I would be in violation, help please

A proctor stopped me in the morning session and told me I couldn’t write in my test book and that I had to erase everything or else I would be disqualified…I was shocked as had never heard of this and asked him where I was supposed to do scratch work and he said in my calculator. He came back 30 min later after another student complained and said “oh the rules have been updated you can write in your book.” Along with another student who this happened to, we made a formal complaint to the head proctor who was very apologetic. In addition I e-mailed the CFAI the sitatuion telling seat numbers, names, everything that they would need to know. However, the CFAI got back to me and pretty much said too bad…really frustrated as I studied for months but ran out of time on the morning because the proctor told me I had to erase everything or else I would be disqualified. I also think it’s insane that students can be banned permananetly for violating CFA testing codes but when someone from the CFA doesn’t know the rules it’s too bad.

While your situation certainly sucks, understand that the proctors are not from CFAI. From my personal observation, CFAI’s hiring requirements for ‘proctors’ tends to be the equivalent of a wal-mart door greeter. Ultimately, it is your responsibility to know the rules. In the event the jerk proctor wrote you up, and assuming it cleared his supervisor, CFAI would have investigated it and probably dismissed the write-up as a non-violation. As far as it “being insane that students can be banned permananetly for violating CFA testing codes,” charterholders busted their ass to earn the designation and certainly don’t want to be associated with those who attempt to get the same designation by way of cheating.

Please refer here: http://www.cfainstitute.org/programs/cfaprogram/exams/Pages/policies.aspx

Click on “Scratch paper policy” : it reads as follows