Programmer looking to take CFA

I am a computer programmer working for an IBank in Toronto with 7 yrs of experience. I have decided to take CFA as the first step to break into the finance worls (cannot afford MBA). I have no background in economics, finace and accounting. I have planned to take L1 in Jun 2012. The material for L1 2012 jun will come out in Jul 2011. will 10 months of prep be enough? if I fail in Jun 2012, I will retake in Dec 2012. Will the material change ‘vastly’ from exam to exam? Thank you.

The material doesn’t change much between exams and 10 months is generally more than enough time. But anyway, have you talked to anyone regarding your finance ambitions? This isn’t something that automatically happens once you get a CFA.

For the same year exams, material is same, no change whatsoever. If you are targeting for June’12 and planning to appear again in Dec’12. You can prepare using the same material. I don’t know how much time you can take out from your work, but 10 month is just too much. It’s hard to persist for that long. People hit peak within four months itself. My advice would be to take it easy in the beginning even if you start 10 months before and when you have 3 months left, you can start hitting the rock real hard. I am also in the similar situation as yours but even I am not sure whether we will be able to crack any job in finance world after CFA. When can we start hunting for jobs? I heard countries like India people get it immediately after level 1. Is it possible here in USA? How much salary and experience do we have to forgo – or do we really have to – to get into finance? Do we enter as trainee or get some advantage of experience we already have. These are the questions which used to bother me a lot in the beginning and as a result used to get demoralized big time. But, now I am completely focused and somehow want to crack the level 1 exam.