Put Me Some Excel Knowledge

I’m a b-school professor. And since it’s valued in the “Real” world, I try to give them as much Excel work as they can stand (and a fiar bit more). For me, it’s not just an academic exercise - I want them to do well on interviews so that they get good jobs and will be happy and successful enough that they buy me good booze down the road - that way, incentives are aligned, and everyone’s happy.

Since a lot of folks here work in the very industry my students are trying to get into, I thought I poll the collective wisdom (whatever that amounts to) of the group. So please answer me these two questions:

1. What half-dozen Excel skills are required so that the student wouldn’t look like a schmo on an interview?

2. What Excel skills would really separate them from the pack?

Keep in mind that these are finance undergrads looking for their first jobs.

I know that Vlookup/Hlookup can come up in interviews in many discplines. Also knowledge of IF statements if they’re starting from zero. I think everyone should at a minimum learn all the sumifs, averageifs, countifs, etc. And depending on the data they’d be working with, pivot tables can also be useful. And people should all realize formatting is 50% of the work since a lot of spreadsheets are used by others or in reports – so emphasis on readability, conditional formatting, etc I’m sure would help.

I know most people would say Pivot Tables are a “must-know”. Personally, in my job, I don’t see a lot of use for them. Ditto Vlookup and Hlookup.

IF statements are crucial, and I also use SUMIF a lot, as well.

Overall, I don’t know if there are any functions that they need to learn. They’ll probably learn most of them on the job. It’s more a function of speed. Little things like using F2, opening a new window so you can work in multiple tabs at once, etc. are what (IMHO) would really make a person better at Excel.