Putting both CPA and CFA on resume - ONTARIO CANADA

Hi all,

I am writing a resume to apply for Financial Analyst/Accountant positions and I have a question. Just so you know, I have been kind of out of the job field for 3 years running a small family business which I have now closed. Prior to this experience, I have been working as an accountant for 2 years.

I am enrolled in CPA program as well as CFA level 2. Should I put both on my resume or will it seem that I am confused with my career path? The reason why I am doing my CFA exams is because I want to learn finance and I don’t really care for a Charter.

Or, depending on the job positions, I should add/ subtract the CFA candidate/ Enrolled in CPA program wording?

Please share your input.

Tough out there buddy.

Put whatever relates to the job you are applying for. If you’re still studying for level 1 I wouldn’t put it on your resume. It like putting “studying for college mid-terms”. No one cares.

Image result for letterkenny memes figure it out

If I were you, I would put them both on the resume. Be sure to indicate which part(s) of each set of exams you have passed.

At least as important, you need to be able to have a succinct answer ready for any prospective employer who asks you why you want both designations. I have both myself, and the knowledge content required to get each one differs greatly from the other. So be prepared to respond to the ‘why both’ question.

Good luck!!

You say, “I have been working as an accountant”, then you say “I am enrolled in a CPA program.” My question - are you an accountant? Yes or no. If you say yes, then “Why are you enrolled in a CPA program?” If not, then why are you calling yourself an accountant?