Qualifications

Good morning. I’m a newbie to this fine group. I’ll receive my MBA in March and I want to be a Business Analyst. I’m trying to gauge the level of SQL or Python I’ll need to be successful. Will a basic understanding do? Do I need to acquire certifications in one or both of these languages? I’d appreciate your input.

Thanks in Advance,

Our resident Python expert, @rawraw will have you sorted out in no time. Stand by.

Depends on what type of job and company you are trying to work for. In general, it takes just a couple days to get going with SQL. Python is going to take more effort, since it is going to require learning programming concepts in addition to the syntax. If your coworkers are going to exist in an Excel world, I would focus on SQL and then analyzing the data in Excel. And you can use some tools that allow Python in the Excel environment, to learn the language and super charge your workbooks

A basic understanding is fine for a job that doesn’t expect you to use the tools (for example, automating tasks the prior guy did manually). But if the job requires Python or SQL knowledge, then a basic understanding probably won’t cut it. But the easiest one to become moderately good at is SQL. For example, I have a buddy who went to work for Google where most of his job was in SQL but he never used it before. Within a few weeks, he was up and running. That would not be the case with Python requirement for a job.

Neither are too difficult, but Python will take dedicated effort over months. I personally wouldn’t go for certificates. I’d want to just know how to use the tool

python crash course

But doesn’t a certificate demonstrate knowledge? I mean, anybody can say, “I know Python”. But a certificate means that you’ve at least paid a little attention.

For the record–I know nothing about Python. But if I were hiring, I’d like to see a little something to back it up. (Just my very ignorant .02)