Quant future?

Like a lot of people here I have always like computers, math and especially the markets. I really would like to pursue a career as a quant analyst but I don’t have the traditional background i.e. I can’t get into Georgia Tech’s “50 people accepted a year” quant Master’s program. I’ve been working in the industry for a little under 4 years and I have a History degree along with my licenses. I never regretted this or thought it would hold me back - Meredith Whitney has a history background - and I’m sure you all know there is diversity in our field. OBVIOUSLY this is why I wanted to pursue the CFA as kind of an entry way into something more technical. What do you all recommend? Should I just learn SQL and Python on my own like I’ve been doing, work and try and get my Charter? Any online quant degrees thats worth the time/money ? Opinions. Thanks!

Look into something called CQF. i know a few people who have this. not sure how well established it is in the industry though.

I saw that on the banner here - 18 grand for 6 months? It looks like something you do post-CFA no ?

Becoming a quant (and probably anything else) requires more than a piece of paper. You first have to determine what type of quant work you want to do, if it is something more in line with fundamental based quant models ( StarMine, Earnings Quality Models,… …) , then you don’t need heavy math and the CFA will help you a lot along with programs like Matlab or anything similar (no hard core C++ coding required here), but if you’re looking for stat_arb or high-frequency type of work, then you need to focus more on your math and programming skills, the CFA will be of little value in that case.