Question about career options/career progression/salary for my experience/education

I’m trying to decide on a 2nd career. It’s a toss-up between CFA or CFP. I might eventually get an MBA. Law school is out of the question (too long, expensive and it doesn’t excite me) A little bit about me. I’m 41 years old with a BA in History and MA in Criminal Justice. The last 20 years were spent in the military (I left as a Lt. Colonel) where I conducted/supervised criminal investigations and physical security. I have zero finance experience. If I study and pass all 3 parts of the CFA, what are my job options? What’s the salary range? Typical career progression. Also, what will I do as a CFA? How would it differ from financial planning? Thanks again in advance-