question from a non financial background

Folks, I have a PhD in Engineering and want to move to analyst/equity type positions. I was told that passing the CFA exams would be a benefit more so if I do an MBA later on. I am some what confused from not being of a financial background. My questions are 1. How difficult are the CFA exams for someone far removed from finance/economics training. 2. Any benefit to pass the CFA exams for people with engineering background? Thanks.

i have masters in engineering. i think you will find the cfa material is not difficult. Level I&II i thought were straight forward, level III is subjective and exam was harder for me, although the material seems very easy.

Why don’t you want to stay in engineering? If you are “far-removed” from finance/economics why do you think this is a good switch? I think getting a Ph.D. in engineering then passing the CFA exams then getting an MBA is really a dumb life plan.

I second JDV You should be able to just use the phd to get other jobs. Consulting and quant positions comes to mind. Unless, God forbid, that you didn’t do any internship in school?