Question from Binomial probability.

As an analyst, I observe that DJIA fulfilled my client’s expectations (defined as “success”) three times out of past 5 yrs and underperfomed two times. What is the probability of exactly two sucesses in the next 5 years?

Doubt: How can we calc this? Wouldn’t we be assuming that past yr returns guide future forecasts, which I believe violates the assumptions about Binomial RV in the first place. My take is that more info is required to solve this. Any advice? Anyone?

Evidently, they want you to calculate P(success) = 3/5: you had three successes in five tries (historically). Use this in the binomial formula.

(By the way, that estimate of P(success) is known as the maximum-likelihood estimate. There are other estimates that you could use. One example is the Bayesian estimate, which in this case would be 4/7 (for k successes in n tries, the Bayesian estimate is (k + 1) / (n + 2)). Interestingly, I independently developed the Bayesian estimate for P(success) when I was working on an algorithm to predict how to bet against the spread in football games; it was years later that I was reading a statistics textbook and learned that I’d developed a real formula. You don’t need to know any of this parenthetical stuff for the Level I CFA exam.)

How is it that I do not violate the assumption of not using historical returns to predict future and still use historical returns to calculate “success”? Exactly two successes in next two yrs would use binomial distribution formula. Can we use it if we use historical data?

You have to estimate P(success) somehow. You’re not using historical data to predict success, only to predict the probability of success (we don’t distinguish between exceeding the client’s expectations by 1% or by 20%).

Use P(success) = 3/5 in the binomial formula. That’s what they want you to do.