Reading 48: Price multiples - Price to Earnings

Page 417’s example: In the calculation of the P/E, do we ignore the effects of 1. nonrecurring earnings /losses? 2. extraordinary earnings/losses? The book’s example seems to indicate that we ignore (1), but we include the extraordinary earnings/losses.

Someone please help me. Is the inclusion/exclusion on a case-by-case basis only? Or there is a clean cut rule on how to deal with them?

I think for P/E you should not be including extraordinary itmes or non-recurring earings/losses because you want to value P/E based solely on regular steady operations of the company and not the odd gains and losses. I’m not an expert in this area though

That example that I cited seemed to remove the non-recurring but not the extra-ordinary.

which book and which material - CFAI or schweser?

boston_level2_candidate Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > That example that I cited seemed to remove the > non-recurring but not the extra-ordinary. you just said the complete opposite above “The book’s example seems to indicate that we ignore (1), but we include the extraordinary earnings/losses.” in general it should be : remove/add non recurring, and ignore ext.

so it sounds like we COMPLETELY IGNORE AND REMOVE/NULLIFY THE extraordinary/non-recurring items? Re: Reading 48: Price multiples - Price to Earnings new Posted by: viktorv (IP Logged) [hide posts from this user] Date: May 15, 2008 10:07AM boston_level2_candidate Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > That example that I cited seemed to remove the > non-recurring but not the extra-ordinary. you just said the complete opposite above “The book’s example seems to indicate that we ignore (1), but we include the extraordinary earnings/losses.” in general it should be : remove/add non recurring, and ignore ext. Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at Thursday, May 15, 2008 at 10:07AM by viktorv.