Real estate excel modelling book

I am no beginner to real estate nor to excel or finance. However much of my background is in direct real estate investing and not that much in listed real estate although I am analyzing that too. I am looking for an advanced book on financial modelling in excel that is focused on real estate (preferably listed re). I am decent at modelling as is but want to learn other ways of thinking/modelling and expand my skills. Any suggestions?

Nobody uses Excel in real estate. Learn Argus for modeling.

Ya many firms ask for Argus exp…but not sure all RE IBs use it. also wonder how can one learn Argus without getting into the filed…any idea ?

Ya many firms ask for Argus exp…but not sure all RE IBs use it. also wonder how can one learn Argus without getting into the filed…any idea ?

Argus is used by the direct real estate guys… IBs dont really use Argus…

What do you mean by “listed” real estate? Syd is right. But you can learn Argus by attending a training course. There are tons of them.

Argust training costs big $.

The 2-day course I was required to attend (lame) is $1100. It costs a lot, but if you know you want to be in a position where Argus experience is necessary, it may be worthwhile. There appear to be cheaper online options available. Alternatively, I think you can download a trial version of the software and could probably teach yourself a lot of it.

Well by listed I mean REITs where applicable and quoted property companies in the other countries (in Europe). Excel is used extensively in real estate investment banking, private equity and banking analysts covering real estate companies. I have heard of the name Argus but never seen it or heard anyone ever use it here. I work for a large consultant so we have adviced many of the big players, it might be that they are using Argus behind the scenes?? Is Argus that great? Is it flexible enough? Just curious, maybe it is something we should look into? So no books then…