Real Estate Private Equity job offer

So I have an offer from this Mumbai based Private Equity Fund with AUM $1 Billion. The profile goes: I would be on the roles of the SPV they have floated which invests into properties and provides sustainable Real Estate advisory. The profile would include entering into property transactions (maybe deal origination but mostly deal execution). I do not know the average deal size for sure. This is NOT an investment/analyst position, this would be a Business Development position and I would be reporting to the head of the Real Estate projects/Warehousing team. Compensation: nothing too great, in fact much lesser than what I am being offered in another firm. I am just out of my MBA (Finance) from a top (but not Ivy-League) B-School in India and very seriously contemplating this position as a way to enter the PE industry. The HR refused to make any promises whatsoever of transferring me to the investments team later. Ideally I’d want to move to a general PE firm (as opposed to a Real Estate PE) like KKR/Blackstone etc in the future and might opt for some advanced courses if required. Question is simple - Will this be a good starting point and will the experience be counted as relevant for moving to a fund manager position later? Also, I am really skeptical of the “job-security” aspect in Real Estate as some people tell me that this is a “risky” position to get into. Any comments on my apprehension would be appreciated. TIA!

So you would be trying to drum up business with real estate owners? I’m confused on what this role entails. Frankly, I didn’t know there were any real estate PE funds still doing deals, but maybe in India things aren’t as bad (?).

^ dry powder is looking for a home at the right price. sellers won’t get there until they can’t meet their balloon payments and can’t extend. coming soon…