recession and equity capital markets

How do you think the job market is going to shake out if the economy continues to sputter. Im moving over to an ER Associate position at a MM I-Bank covering tech hardware, should i be concerned before I even get there?

If it’s ML maybe, GS no.

I think worrying about a recession is pretty useless. What would you do differently in your career if you knew there was going to be a recession?

samss007, Sam , congratulations on your new position. I am also searching for an ER position in the tech space. Do you mind sharing some info about your background and your interview. I have about 10 years of experience in IT and have an MBA from NYU. I currently work for a BB in their Tech strategy team. Thanks.

JoeyDVivre Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I think worrying about a recession is pretty > useless. What would you do differently in your > career if you knew there was going to be a > recession? I agree 100% with JoeyDVivre. All too often, people get preoccupied with things they can’t control. For what it’s worth, I guess you could be concerned that things might be going into a recession…however, remember that there’s still trading activity when people sell off, so as long as you’re with a good shop and your research department can drive trade commissions, your trading desk can still make money for you in a down market unless or until the market totally flatlines. ER experience is good, and working at a MM in ER with the risk of being letting go is still probably better than whatever it is you’re doing right now.